Vietnam bags 98 golds, ranks 2nd in SEA Games

16:00 | 25/12/2019 Society

(VEN) - The Southeast Asian Games, also known as the SEA Games, are a biennial multi-sport event involving participants from 11 Southeast Asian countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam. The first SEA Games were held in Bangkok, Thailand in 1959.

vietnam bags 98 golds ranks 2nd in sea games

This year’s SEA Games took place in the Philippines from November 30 to December 11. Vietnam’s delegation to the event comprised 856 members, including 568 athletes competing in 43 sports.

The delegation’s results far exceeded expectations, with 98 gold medals, placing Vietnam in second place after host Philippines in term of golds.

The resounding victory of Vietnam’s U22 team against Indonesia netted the men’s football team the gold medal that fans across the country had been awaiting for the past six decades.

Vietnam will host the next SEA Games in Hanoi in 2021.

Can Dung