GMS countries implement ASEAN Agreement on Transboundary Haze Pollution

14:56 | 30/08/2018 Environment

The seventh ministerial meeting to coordinate the Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) countries joining the ASEAN Agreement on Transboundary Haze Pollution took place in the central coastal city of Da Nang on August 29.

Delegates at the event share experience and knowledge on haze pollution prevention - Photo: VNA

Attending the event were ministerial leaders from four GMS countries – namely Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, and Vietnam.

The annual meeting is part of the regional cooperation mechanism to discuss strategies and directions for the effective implementation of the agreement and strengthen cooperation between ASEAN member states.

Participating countries used the occasion to share experience and knowledge on haze pollution prevention as well as to consider the approval of a report submitted at the 13th meeting of the GMS technical working group on the implementation of the agreement.

Delegates discussed solutions and made important decisions related to forest fire management and haze pollution control in GMS countries in particular, and the ASEAN community in general, to produce a vision of a haze-free future for the region.

Host Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Ha Cong Tuan affirmed that Vietnam is committed to utilising all necessary resources to implement effective sustainable forest management, as well as ensure the protection and development of forest resources with priority given to forest fire prevention and control.

Vietnam also calls for the comprehensive cooperation between GMS countries and international sponsors and organisations in jointly building an environmentally friendly community with sustainable development, he added.

The ASEAN Agreement on Transboundary Haze Pollution is an important agreement formed within the tradition of solidarity and cooperation between Southeast Asian and GMS nations, aiming to prevent and control fires while minimising negative haze impact on neighbouring countries. The agreement was signed in 2012 with the participation of Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam, and Myanmar.