Eight teams to vie at AFF Women’s Championship

12:29 | 27/04/2015 Society

Eight teams will vie at the ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) Women’s Football Championship 2015, scheduled to be held in Ho Chi Minh City in May, said the Vietnam Football Federation.

Eight teams to vie at AFF Women’s Championship

The teams from Australia, who are the guest at the event, Indonesia, Laos and Thailand will compete in Group A. Meanwhile, those from Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, and host Vietnam will be in Group B.

Under the round-robin format, Group A’s matches will begin on May 1 while the teams in Group B will play with each other from May 2.

Vietnam face Myanmar on May 2 before competing against Malaysia on May 4 and the Philippines on May 6, the VFF said.

This year’s tourney is said to be of importance since women’s football is not included in competition categories at the 28th Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games 28) in Singapore this June.

Vietnam hosted the VFF Women’s Football Championship for three times (in 2006, 2008, and 2012) since it was first held in 2006. It won the trophy in 2006 and 2012./.

Source VOV

Theo ven.vn